2012 Pezzano Scholarship Winners Announced



The International Bowling Media Association (IBMA) annually awards a communication scholarship named in honor of journalist Chuck Pezzano of Clifton, NJ, a member of the IBMA (formerly Bowling Writers Association of America, BWAA), United States Bowling Congress and Professional Bowlers Association Halls of Fame.

Up to three (3) scholarships per year may be awarded to a high school senior, vocational or college student based on the applicant’s credentials. Any or all of the funds may, or may not be, distributed at the discretion of the committee.  Individual awards may not exceed $1,500 per year and yearly combined scholarships may not exceed $3,000 per year.  If there are any ties, money will be split.  Winners will also receive a one-year paid membership in IBMA.

To be eligible, applicants must meet the following requirements:

  • Involvement in the field of communications (to mean all who communicate with words and/or images), for example: writers, journalists, television, radio or web broadcasters, public relations or publicity directors, graphic artists, copy writers, as well as photo journalists, illustrators and cartoonists.
  • Maintain a minimum 3.0/4.0 GPA or equivalent – weight 2/5.
  • Include a copy of school transcript with the application.
  • Participate in the sport of bowling, although bowling skills are NOT a requisite – weight 1/5.
  • May not have exceeded their 25th birthday during the calendar year of the award.
  • Include one or two letters of reference.
  • Write a titled essay not to exceed 1,000 words – weight 2/5.

Please do not include stories, articles or press clippings that may have been written about you.  All information must be hard copy.  Type or print clearly all answers.  Fill in all information completely.  Use a blank sheet of paper if necessary.

Complete this form and return to the chairman postmarked no later than May 21, 2014.

Winners will be notified by phone and officially announced at the IBMA annual meeting & convention in June.

Pezzano Scholarship winners

2013 - Ben Breuner,Kentfield, CA, Melissa Sobolik, Marian, IA,Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT

2012 - Stephanie Sims, Garland, TX; Blair Blumenscheid, Columbus, OH; Samantha Chong, San Jose, CA

2011 - Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT; Kenny Martin, Pacifica, CA; Phillip Brylow, Waukesha, WI

2010 -  Lydia Rypcinski, Chicago, IL; Blair Blumenscheid, Ohio; Ryan Miller, Machensey Park, IL

2009 – Thomas Madrecki , Northbrook, IL, Heather D'Errico, Rochester, NY, Ryan Yadao, Las Vegas, NV and Michelle Todisco, West Chester, PA

2008– Thomas Madrecki, Northbrook, IL and Liz Sautter. Sunnyvale, CA

2007 – James Buonaiuto, Queens, NY and Patricia Pringle, Antioch, IL

2006 – Michael Menera, Tampa, FL and Justine Fields, Roslyn Heights, NY

2005 – Grant Engels, Hollywood, FL and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ

2004 – Amanda Reyes, Henderson, NV

2003 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, NY and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ

2002 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, N

2001 – Melissa (Missy) Bellinder, Fullerton, CA

2000 – Jimmy Wulf, Albuquerque, NM and Shauna Van Meter, Albuquerque, NM

Chuck Pezzano

The Chuck Pezzano Scholarship is named in honor of IBMA, United States Bowling Congress and Professional Bowlers Association Hall of Fame journalist Chuck Pezzano of Clifton, N.J.  

IBMA accepts donations to support the Chuck Pezzano Scholarship. You can donate using your credit card or PayPal account.



You can also send a check made out to IBMA Scholarship, to Ron DeRoxtra, Administrative Director, 621 Six Flags Dr., Arlington, TX 76011