Welcome to the IBMA Chuck Pezzano Scholarship

Presented by the Billiards and Bowling Institute of America

Are you eligible for the $5,000.00 Award?

If you are a High School Senior or College Student who may be interested in a part– or full-time career writing about the sport of bowling click HERE for the full criteria and eligibility for the Scholarship Award.

For more information contact Brian Hirsch,
IBMA Operations Manager,


Donate Today!

Chuck Pezzano Scholarship Button

2019 Winner – Marianna Pizzini, $5,000.00

Marianna (Mari) Pizzini was the unanimous choice of the judges, outpacing the field in points by 50%. Pizzini, is from Bellview, Nebraska, a junior at Morningside College, Souix City, Iowa, studying English and Mass Communications. She has a GPA of 3.93 and when she is not hitting the books, you can hear her on the Morningside College Radio Station, KSMC Fusion 93, or on the lanes competing on behalf of the Morningside Women’s Bowling Team.
Her Honors include four times Dean List Recipient; 2019 3rd place Literary Award, Kiosk; 2018-2019 Alpha Lambda Delta Vice President; 2018-2019 Sophomore Cup winner; 2018-2019 Bill and Lorraine Outstanding English Student Award Recipient; 2018-2019 and 2017-2018 Academic All-American; 2018-2019 Associate Editor of Poetry, Kiosk; 2017-2018 First Year Student Writing Award Winner; Palmer Research Symposium Humanities Oral Session 1 Winner.

Marianna Pizzini

Pezzano Scholarship Winners

2018 - Chase Kaufman, Swartz Creek, MI
2017 - James (Jimmy) J. Sullivan, Dumont, New Jersey
2016 - none awarded
2015 - Darian Miller, Slidell, LA
2014 - None awarded
2013 - Ben Breuner,Kentfield, CA, Melissa Sobolik, Marian, IA,Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT
2012 - Stephanie Sims, Garland, TX; Blair Blumenscheid, Columbus, OH; Samantha Chong, San Jose, CA
2011 - Matthew Perry, Shelton, CT; Kenny Martin, Pacifica, CA; Phillip Brylow, Waukesha, WI
2010 - Lydia Rypcinski, Chicago, IL; Blair Blumenscheid, Ohio; Ryan Miller, Machensey Park, IL
2009 – Thomas Madrecki , Northbrook, IL, Heather D'Errico, Rochester, NY, Ryan Yadao, Las Vegas, NV, Michelle Todisco, West Chester, PA
2008– Thomas Madrecki, Northbrook, IL and Liz Sautter. Sunnyvale, CA
2007 – James Buonaiuto, Queens, NY and Patricia Pringle, Antioch, IL
2006 – Michael Menera, Tampa, FL and Justine Fields, Roslyn Heights, NY
2005 – Grant Engels, Hollywood, FL and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ
2004 – Amanda Reyes, Henderson, NV
2003 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, NY and Amanda Pezzano, Hawthorne, NJ
2002 – Marc D’Errico, Rochester, NY
2001 – Melissa (Missy) Bellinder, Fullerton, CA
2000 – Jimmy Wulf, Albuquerque, NM and Shauna Van Meter, Albuquerque, NM